you're reading...
Cupcakes

When Piping Squigly Lines.

20111214-173124.jpg

It was a fine, sunny day somewhere in June 2011(!) when I finally got down to some baking. You see, there was a bunch of boys in my community that were about to enlist for NS, and there was a BBQ gathering organised to send them off, say our goodbyes, pray for their safety, etc.

So I thought it’d be nice to bake some sweet stuff to bring along for the barbeque.

I decided on using one of my go-to recipes for this, and of course, who else besides the one and only – Martha Stewart! Only she has all the solutions to my baking crisis.

Oh Martha, what would I do without you?

These are Martha’s One-Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes. Look at that, it’s seriously the easiest recipe to follow EVER!

Although I have my reservations about adding water(?!) into my batter.

So I decided to go with more buttermilk instead of water.

Verdict: So much better than the first time I tried it with water(!?) in it. I think it made the cupcakes a little fluffier.

So now that I’m done with the cupcakes, time to frost & decorate.

20111214-172602.jpg

What?! No sprinkles, no colouring to make them look pretty?

Noooooooo.

*Knocks head on wall, repeatedly*

Okay, chill.

And breathe.

I had chocolate chips & some heavy cream. So it’s gotta be chocolate ganache then! Made a batch and frosted the cupcakes. I also whipped up a small batch of buttercream frosting to decorate. I went with the hostess cupcake design of swirly loops, or in my case, squigly lines.

20120109-153611.jpg

I think these are the best looking ones out of the whole batch.

Shaky hands & humid weather are not the best combinations to have when decorating cupcakes.

Of course, and I wanted to make it a little more special for the boys who were enlisting, so I decided to personalize the cupcakes with their names on it.

20111214-172547.jpg

It totally did not look as good as I wanted it to be, but I think the boys enjoyed it anyway.

Or so I hope!

Discussion

One thought on “When Piping Squigly Lines.

  1. kel you are seriously gifted in this!!!

    Posted by mx | February 5, 2012, 4:06 pm

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Archives